Posts

Showing posts from September, 2011

Drive

Image
Drive, the most recent film by Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson, Valhalla Rising) began its slow but steady climb towards cultural awareness a few months ago, with the release of what is, in my opinion, one of the best trailers of the year.  Steady buzz has followed, including a very favorable showing at the Cannes Film Festival where Refn won Best Director, and heaps of critical praise.  Word of mouth seems to be unstoppable at this point, with whispers of Oscar soon to follow, I'm sure, both for Ryan Gosling's performance and for Refn's directing.  What I can't figure out entirely, is if this film will be able to hold up to its almost pre-destined reputation, or if further viewing will simply prove it to be something of a novelty.  I'll further clarify my reaction after a brief recap.
Drive focuses on the life of a nomadic young driver, in Los Angeles.  By day, he puts his skills to use as a stunt man in the movie business and mechanic; by night, he's a get-away …

I've Got a Pitbull Now

Image
I know that this is a hotly contested debate, but I've always stood firm on the fact that the best of the Back to the Future installments is its second entry, aptly titled Back to the Future Pt. II.  The first one is great.  I'm not taking away from it.  It gets huge points for featuring "Power of Love" and for, generally, being an awesome addition to 80s pop culture.  However, the second installment upped the ante.  We finally got to go TO the future, not only an important aspect of the space-time contiuum, but a necessary journey if the title was to continue to hold any weight.  The future was chock full of interesting things, but let's face facts, there were two standouts on Marty's jaunt and it was, of course, the hoverboard and the awesome Nike shoes.  Now, I may never get to see a hoverboard, and even if it does come around, my coordination and balance might not be tops by the time I'm 40, but there is some very exciting news from the world of shoe…

Soulless

Image
Soulless by Gail Carriger
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It's been a very long time since I have stayed up to finish a book.  Probably the last time it happened was with the final Harry Potter installment, and before that, in my teens, it was probably a John Grisham novel, and most likely The Pelican Brief.  That being said, it's just turned 2 am and I've just finished Soulless, and was delighted the entire way through.

I've put myself through a rigorous year of reading, so far, not in the number of books but in the kinds of books that I've chosen to pick up.  Engrossed in lengthy series books, like  A Dance With Dragons, and serious novels like Cloud Atlas, I needed a brain reset, and badly.  I needed something quick and fun, and the first of the Parasol Protectorate was just that.

The heroine, one Miss Alexia Tarabotti, is a mischievous, intelligent, strong-willed character, much in the vein of Lizzie Bennett and Jo March, and as often as possible, refuses to take "…

New Mantra

Before today, I'd never heard of Anais Nin.  Now I'm Wikipedia-ing and Amazon-ing like crazy.  I pretty much love the the directness of this quote:

I, with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naive or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.
Anais Nin

Initially courtesy of this Tumblr:


If I had a lifeboard (which I don't...yet) this quote would be on it.